• MBAgency
  • Posts
  • The Simplicity Of Skipping The Line

The Simplicity Of Skipping The Line

“I read every book and magazine I could. Heck, three bucks for a magazine, twenty bucks for a book. One good idea would lead to a customer or a solution, and those magazines and books paid for themselves many times over.” - Mark Cuban

4 years ago, I opened an LLC and started my first business.

The catch?

I had zero business experience or knowledge.

Sure, I had taken a few classes in college that dealt with business finances, but that felt so much different than starting a company

The only “business experience” I had in college was in my Corporate Finance class, where we were asked how to find the free cash flow or random publicly traded companies (not really that helpful for someone who had exactly $0 in free cash flow).

To make a long story short, while I accomplished the inevitable first step of starting a company (making it official with an LLC), I was pretty much stuck on what to do next.

Should I start cold calling businesses?

Do people still use business cards?

Maybe I should set up a website?

What about bank accounts?

Wait… What am I even selling anyway?

Needless to say, I had more questions than solutions, and plenty to work through.

Fast forward four years, and I now own a portfolio of companies, employ 20+ individuals across the world, and have set myself up to retire far earlier than any of my personal finance classes in college predicted.

So, what changed?

I skipped the line, and read as much as I could.

Every time I share this advice, people smirk. And truthfully, I understand why. It’s overplayed…

EVERYONE tells you to read. But the funny part is, almost no one does.

And if they do, they rarely implement anything they’ve learned between the covers of what they’re reading.

As I look back on the last 4 years, there are a suite of books I almost always recommend. They cover business advice, personal guidance, mindset, and more.

You can read them, or you can ignore them. But, I’ll leave you with this - I equate a large amount of my recent success to the books below, and my willingness to take action on them.

Hopefully you find them as valuable as I did.

This Won't Scale by Drift

A collection of 41 plays that Drift used to grow their business. It covers various aspects of marketing, sales, and customer experience.

Double Your Profits by Bob Fifer

This book offers practical advice on improving a company's bottom line by cutting costs, increasing efficiency, and improving profitability.

Addicted to the Process by Scott Leese

A guide to building a successful sales career by focusing on a repeatable process, mindset, and resilience.

Four Disciplines of Execution by Chris McChesney, Sean Covey, and Jim Huling

This book presents a framework for executing important goals by focusing on the disciplines of focus, leverage, engagement, and accountability.

Lean Thinking by James P. Womack and Daniel T. Jones

A book that outlines the principles of lean manufacturing, aiming to minimize waste and optimize productivity.

Do Better Work by Max Yoder

A guide to improve workplace communication, collaboration, and performance through shared understanding, feedback, and vulnerability.

The Motive by Patrick Lencioni

This leadership fable explores the importance of understanding one's true motives for leading and the impact it can have on organizational success.

Getting Naked by Patrick Lencioni

Another leadership fable that teaches the value of vulnerability, transparency, and trust in building strong client relationships.

Psychology of Money by Morgan Housel

This book explores the psychological and behavioral aspects of personal finance, offering insights on how to make better financial decisions.

I Will Teach You To Be Rich by Ramit Sethi

A personal finance guide that covers budgeting, saving, investing, and wealth-building strategies.

Chase the Lion by Mark Batterson

A motivational book that encourages readers to embrace their dreams, face their fears, and pursue their goals with passion and determination.

W1nning by Tim Grover

Tim Grover shares insights and lessons on developing a winning mindset, pushing through mental and physical barriers, and achieving success in various aspects of life.